To Do Well What Should Not Be Done at All, Part 2

The hypebot songwriting contest made me think of other songs that say awful things to women, but in such a manner as to be loved by those very women.  Master this trick and there may be a Tuscan villa in it for you!

People are pretty hip to Every Breath You Take these days, rightly seeing it as a stalker song, so I suppose it doesn’t count any more.  I remember gushy girl-swoons back in 1983. 

How about this one? (m/l: Nuno Bettencourt and Gary Cherone)

The chorus goes like this:

More than words
Is all you have to do to make it real 
Then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me 
Cos I’d already know

I propose:

Talk is cheap
When all you have to do is get on my bed
Then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me
Cos you’d be on your back

Also (m/l: Paul Overstreet and Don Schlitz):

Chorus:

The smile on your face lets me know
That you need me
There’s a truth in your eyes
Saying you’ll never leave me
The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me
Whenever I fall
You say it best
When you say nothing at all

This can remain as it is until:

The touch of your hand as we drink from
The same loving cup
I like you best
When you just shut the f*ck up

5 thoughts on “To Do Well What Should Not Be Done at All, Part 2

  1. Chris Rock says:

    “Women don’t care, man. If the beat’s all right, she will dance all night! I’ve seen girls on the floor dancing to the nastiest shit ever made. It’s like, “Smack her with a dick, smack her with a dick! … I put a dick in the ear, a dick in the ear! … Fuck her in the eye, fuck her in the eye! … Blind the bitch, blind the bitch!”

    Indeed.

  2. First one I thought of was Dylan’s “Just Like A Woman” but do women like it?

    She’s always asking me for stuff.
    She’s a good root, I’ll give her that,
    But then she gets all emotional and shit,
    Like she’s a kid or something.

    • And all chicks are like that.

      As a teenager I thought Billy Joel’s “Always a Woman” was very profound. When I said as much to my then girlfriend, the air temperature dropped ten degrees.

Leave a Reply

