Idle Query: Alison Moyet

I admit it, I like Alison Moyet’s Invisible, from 1984, and until I wrote this post I had no idea it was written by Lamont Dozier, of Holland-Dozier-Holland fame.

Nevertheless, I don’t get this bit:

I tell myself lies and give you alibies
Knowing your promises, you’ll never keep
Like a merry-go-round, I’m goin’ up, going down
I’m on a dead end street …

A merry-go-round might be placed on a dead-end street (although this would be very poor business practice), but I don’t think the movement which best typifies a merry-go-round is that of “going up, goin’ down”.  I know the horses (but rarely the elephants, sadly) do go up and down, but that’s not what draws you to a merry-go-round, is it?  Kids don’t say, “Oh please, can I go up and down on the merry-go-round?”

No, because if they did, it would be known as a merry-go-up-and-down.

2 thoughts on “Idle Query: Alison Moyet

  1. Maybe it is that a merry-go-round transports you but takes you nowhere and returns to the point of entry. Actually, some merry-go-rounds do go up and down. I rode one frequently.

    • You mean it just went up and down, but NOT round and round as well? I salute you – your stomach is stronger than mine.

      And yes, I’m sure the “transport to nowhere” is exactly what Lamont Dozier had in mind:

      Like the wavelength of sound,
      I’m going up, goin’ down …

      Like an evening gown,
      I’m going up, goin’ down …

      It’s not easy to fix.

Leave a Reply

