And the Winner Was …

I was wrong, Sarah Blasko didn’t win the APRA Song of the Year award last night. It was The Temper Trap’s Sweet Disposition that won.

(The guitar is prettily done, the bit where the hi-hat kicks in is great, the vocal’s really good, and there were better songs shortlisted.)

Empire of the Sun, whose work I feared might be mistaken for songwriting, won Dance Work of the Year, so that’s a relief.

According to APRA’s tweets, nominees performed each other’s songs last night – for example, Operator Please did “Sweet Disposition”, and Basement Birds did “All I Want”.  That sounds like fun.

Me, I had such fun briefly knowing what tunes the kids are into these days that I plan to go through the whole rigmarole again next year.  Ooh, whole … rigmarole … that’s half the shortlisted songs out-rhymed by accident.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s