The APRA finalists

APRA announced yesterday the nominees for Song of the Year.  They are:

Sarah Blasko – “All I Want
Abby Mandagi and Lorenzo Sillitto (Temper Trap) – “Sweet Disposition
Troy Cassar-Daley – “Big Big Love
Kate Miller-Heidke and Keir Nuttall – “The Last Day on Earth
Luke Steele, Jonathan Sloan and Nick Littlemore – “We Are The People

Bearing in mind that this a peer-voted award, and that thousands of APRA-registered songwriters voted for these nominees, I have one question:


Sure, sure, I’ll admit that my preferred songs aren’t up there, but it’s not about that.  Here is the opening of Empire of the Sun’s “We Are the People“:

We can remember
Swimmin’ in December
Headin’ for the city lights
In nine seven five

That’s a pretty good opening, although few well-lit coastal cities existed in the tenth century.

We share in each other
Nearer than farther
The scent of a lemon
Drips from your eyes

This should be re-written as:



We are the people that rule the world
A force running in every boy and girl
All rejoicing in the world
Take me now
We can try

Is really:

non-rhyming cliché
another cliché, using previous non-rhyming word


I can only assume that a great many APRA-registered songwriters went swimming somewhere in the mid-’70s, and this evocation of that time made ’em feel all mushy.  But geez, guys, the future will judge us.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s