Best Songwriting Book, Hands Down, That I’ve Ever Read

And it’s only about lyrics, but it’s still the best.  Better than Ira Gershwin’s Lyrics on Several Occasions, better than Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, better than The Poets of Tin Pan Alley, The Singer and the Song, The Song is Ended, or Fascinating Rhythm.

This is the third copy I’ve owned:

The other two were each leant to an aspiring songwriter with the words, “This is just a loan”.  Foolish, I know, but they were pretty.

Arrogantly, I thought for years that I need not buy this book again, that I had absorbed its knowledge and could now pursue my own Zen master path.  A quick look at the index shows how wrong I was. 

Wax on, wax off, wax on, wax off …

Leave a Reply

