The APRA Song of the Year – the shortlist

Damn, can we pick the collective taste of the nation’s songwriters or what?  Here are APRA’s twenty shortlisted songs:

All I Know– Karnivool
All I Want – Sarah Blasko
All of the Dreamers – Powderfinger
Art of Love – Guy Sebastian ft Jordin Sparks
Big, Big Love – Troy Cassar-Daley
Blood – The Middle East
Broken Leg – Bluejuice
Burn Your Name – Powderfinger
Caught in the Crowd – Kate Miller-Heidke
Coin Laundry – Lisa Mitchell
Foreign Land – Eskimo Joe
One Way Road – John Butler Trio
Parlez Vouz Francais? – Art vs Science
Set Fire to the Hive – Karnivool
She’s a Genius – Jet
Sweet Disposition – Temper Trap
The Last Day on Earth – Kate Miller-Heidke
We Are the People – Empire of the Sun
We Won’t Run – Sarah Blasko
You’ve Changed – Sia

The JJJ Hottest 100 ones are in bold.  Of the remaining seven, I have already caught up with four (Big Big Love, Burn Your Name, Caught in the Crowd, The Last Day on Earth).  So I now need to listen to a mere three songs, by March 19.  Phew.

I’d forgotten about Kate Miller-Heidke and Keir Nuttall’s Caught in the Crowd, which ain’t half bad, and which took the Grand Prize in the 2008 International Songwriting Competition last year.  It may take the APRA prize too.  In any case, it’s disappointing not to see anything by Megan Washington in this shortlist.  Cement is better than half the songs here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s