Idle Query: Leonard Cohen

Bird on The Wire.  Terrific opening lines:

Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

But the next bit’s a little mystifying:

Like a worm on a hook,
like a knight from some old fashioned book
I have saved all my ribbons for thee.

See, a bird and a drunk can try to be free, but how does a worm save you his ribbons?  A knight, yes, but how does a worm do it?

Luckily, Leonard changed the lyrics for later live versions:

Like a worm on a hook,
Like a knight been down in some old fashioned book
It was the shape of our love that twisted me

See, I’m not the only one who worries about these things.

2 thoughts on “Idle Query: Leonard Cohen

Leave a Reply

