A Song For Malcolm Turnbull

The music is not yet complete, but you can probably hear it in your head.

You Have My Full Support

If you are a traitor,
Impatient for your day,
Remember that deception
Must be done a certain way.
Before betrayal, don’t forget:
Observe the proper etiquette
Look your victim in the eye and say …

“You have my full support,
You have my full support.
I know once or twice in the past we fought,
But you have my full support.
You have my full support,
You have my full support.
I just helped you buy the farm you bought,
And you have my full support.”

Caesar woke one day
In 44 BC,
Went to the Senate and thought,
“How everyone wants to get close to me!”
After twenty stabs or so,
Caesar said, “Et tu, Brute?”
And just before Brutus tested his blade,
What did Brutus say?

“You have my full support,
You have my full support.
I’ll see to it all these assassins are caught,
‘cos you have my full support.
You have my full support,
You have my full support.
Oh dear, look at the rug, now come here for a hug,
And you have my full support.”

Jesus took a walk
In the garden late one night.
Judas arrived, all silver and booze,
Tilting slightly to the right.
Judas kissed him on the lips,
Well, that’s the tale you hear,
But not everyone knows that after the smooch,
He whispered in his ear,

“You have my full support,
You have my full support.
That turning of cheeks, what a lovely thought!
It has my full support.
You have my full support,
You have my full support.
Now I’ll just ask your dad for that hammer he had,
And you have my full support.”

Kennedy woke one day
In 1963,
Went for a drive and thought, “These Southerners
Seem to be warming to me.”
Before those rifle shots
Took their terrible toll,
What comforting words did Kennedy hear
Coming from the grassy knoll?

“You have my full support,
You have my full support.
Now wave and smile, like a President ought,
‘Cos you have my full support.
You have my full support,
You have my full support.
No, no, stay in the car, have a Cuban cigar,
‘Cos you have my full support.”

Malcolm had panache.
Malcolm had the charm.
Malcolm had Tony and Joe by his side,
Keeping him safe from harm.
Did Malcolm know he was toast?
Did Malcolm know he was dead?
When Tony came out of the party room,
Then turned to him and said,

“You have my full support,
You have my full support.
Got a meeting with Joe, but I’ll keep it short,
And you have my full support.
You have my full support,
You have my full support.

The earth’s getting hot
‘til you’re gone, then it’s not.

And you have my full support.”

I am indebted to Mike Lynch for the climate change quip in the last lines, and I know, I’m anticipating Monday’s events.  I may have to re-write but I think, historically, the odds are on my side.

One thought on “A Song For Malcolm Turnbull

Leave a Reply

