A note on Neil Diamond’s ‘Crackling Rosie’.

I’ve always liked the line “We got all night / To set the world right”, because I’m a sucker for something banal followed unexpectedly by something profound.  Makes me get all hot-eyed and maudlin.  Like this, from Can’t Help Falling in Love:

“Take my hand, take my whole life too.”

Starts as a horny teen, but finishes as the daddy of your children.  Although that’s probably something you can see coming from all the “fools rush in” business that precedes it.

Of course, time goes by and one learns that Cracklin’ Rosie is about store-bought booze.  I thought that line was describing the first flush of there’s-nobody-alive-but-us-darling-love-me-love-me-you-mad-fool.  But no.

Not that who-needs-women-let’s-get-smashed doesn’t have its place.

One thought on “A note on Neil Diamond’s ‘Crackling Rosie’.

Leave a Reply

